Upcycled Crafts: Notepads

September 21, 2013 at 1:36 am Leave a comment

Hello everyone! As you may have read in previous blog posts, I was out on maternity leave and just now am returning with more crafting ideas. I wanted to thank my awesome coworkers here at Recycled Reads for keeping up the craft blog and staying crafty in general. They continue to inspire and impress me! It’s great to be back, and I am looking forward to experimenting with new ideas for upcycling. Right before I gave birth, I was preparing for our Upcycle This program that featured notepads, so I wanted to share a photo of my notepad. I used a topographic map and brads to hold the pages together, so it’s a pretty straightforward project that’s easily done in an afternoon. Just cut all the pages to the same size, then align when you make the holes for the brads. I used a book binding needle to make the holes, carefully holding the pages together so all the holes lined up. This is probably the most challenging part. After making two sets of holes, I put in the brads and had a nice little notepad to show for a couple hours’ work.

notepad

I hear that the program was pretty successful, which is great! Although since returning I am a little more tired thanks to my little one, I am still dedicated to cause of spreading the mission of Recycled Reads: keeping books out of our landfills and giving them a second life either by selling them or, if they’re damaged, by upcycling them.

Do you have any ideas for upcycling? Let me know in the comments what you’d like to see as far as craft programming for Recycled Reads.

Entry filed under: Crafts.

Upcycled Crafts: Rolled Vinyl = new keychains for our bathroom keys! Upcycled Crafts: Paper Lilies

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 119 other followers

Comments? Suggestions?

Send us an e-mail

or call the store: (512) 323-5123

Our hours:

  • Thursday - Sunday
  • 12:00pm - 6:00pm

Our address:

Follow us on Facebook

Other Austin Public Library links:

