Upcycled Crafts: Gift wrapping

April 18, 2014 at 3:28 pm Leave a comment

This morning I had to stop at Walgreens for a quick baby-related errand and noticed something that made me realize how much my thinking has changed since I began working at Recycled Reads. It was a simple enough scene that most people might not even register: I know I barely did! It was a woman leaving the store with a shiny, colorful children’s gift bag stuffed with plenty of red tissue paper. I thought idly, “Last minute stop before the birthday party!” Then, I looked at my son sitting in the car seat next to me and wondered about future birthday party planning, decorating, gift bagging. That sounds like it will be expensive.

Then my thoughts went to sustainability: such shiny, pretty things that will likely be torn and only used once. True, there are many people out there that dutifully gather pretty gift bags and reuse them (I myself do this), and this is good, this is a start. But, what about changing our gift giving ways to begin with? What about maps, newspaper, and comics for wrapping gifts? Not only is it more sustainable, it’s much cheaper. It also looks pretty snazzy, and gives your gift the homemade touch.

So, the moral of the blog is, if you’ve got a birthday party to go to and need a last minute way to wrap your gift, grab some of the comics from the recycling bin, or better yet, stop by Recycled Reads and buy an outdated fold up map to wrap your present.

Entry filed under: Crafts. Tags: , , .

Upcycled Crafts: Baskets Upcycled Crafts: Crane Earrings

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 119 other followers

Comments? Suggestions?

Send us an e-mail

or call the store: (512) 323-5123

Our hours:

  • Thursday - Sunday
  • 12:00pm - 6:00pm

Our address:

Follow us on Facebook

Other Austin Public Library links:

